Brie and honey!

This week I took a quick trip with my husband to Ojai.  We were able to visit lots of interesting markets, restaurants and the ever-so-interesting Bart’s books.  We also had a visit to the spa and the local tasting room.  It was meant to be a relaxing trip and it was definitely that.  We stayed at the Su Nido Inn which happened to be steps to almost every place we wanted to go.  We actually ate at the same place for dinner two nights in a row, it was so good.

The first night out was Azu.  I mention it because I ordered an amazing appetizer.  Something I am sure to try at home until I get it perfect, but honestly I don’t know how it could go wrong.  It was a wedge of brie, 2-3 tablespoons of honey drizzled around the cheese.  Then it was baked until the cheese was oozing out the sides and the honey was very hot.  Served with a few slices of a small baguette touching the piping, hot honey and some walnuts sprinkled on top.  I liked it so much, I had to have it again the next night.  I also ordered their soup which was a root vegetable and a salad.  Everything I had was delicious.  And to end the night a chocolate souffle that was for dark chocolate lovers.  Amazing!

The second night I had only the brie which could have easily been dessert and the butternut squash ravioli with parmesan.  I tried a new dessert which was good, but I’d stick to the chocolate souffle or creme brulee if I went again.  Only because these two desserts are quite special in my mind, and difficult to make at home.

I am going to try to make the brie at home.  I would encourage you to do that too.  It was the best brie I’ve ever had.

I will try to share more about the places to visit in Ojai, after I have some girl time with my sweet valentines.  Tonight it is just the girls and I, so I’m hoping for some Jane Austen movies. 😉

Happy Valentine’s Day to all!

Leave a Reply

